SqlDbx Forum

SqlDbx

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-06-24 14:27:05

davidramel

SqlDbx and SSMS

Hi,

I'm a journalist writing about alternatives to SQL Server Management Studio, and I found SqlDbx was positioned as such. I'm fooling around with SqlDbx now, but I'd like to get some comments from more experienced users out there. Does anyone have thoughts about how SqlDbx compares to SSMS or serves as a substitute/alternative to SSMS? I'm writing for developer-oriented media outlets, so I'd love to get comments from developers or about developer-related functions (as opposed to DBA). Any and all comments are welcome. Thanks.

#2 2011-06-27 11:20:43

cottonbe
Consultant

Re: SqlDbx and SSMS

SqlDbx is an extraordinary data IDE.  Before SqlDbx we used very expensive data IDEs like DBArtisan.  SqlDbx does *everything* that DBArtisan does and it does it at literally 1/10th the DBArtisan price.  Actually, SqlDbx does quite a bit *more* than DBArtisan ... I especially like the SqlDbx ability to automatically generate new CRUD operation statement sets from existing Result grids.  It does this transitively too -- which is a huge convenience to any data developer.   SqlDbx is also extremely accommodating to the real-time data community ... providing explicit support for the KDB+ data product set.  Outside of SqlDbx, I don't know of a single other generic data IDE product that provides explicit support for KDB+.  It is no wonder that SqlDbx is the overwhelming data IDE of choice at just about all the major Wall Street investment banks (Goldman, Merrill/BofA, Lehman/BarCap, Credit Suisse, etc)   SqlDbx is the only data IDE to use in these environments ... it being the only data IDE that is both 100% sound and 100% complete wrt to accommodating *every* data use case.   It does everything and it does it well.  It does it the best.

#3 2011-06-27 12:21:59

gnanigk